Uncategorized

I need to unplug

I am lucky enough to have three beautiful and healthy children that mean the absolute world to me.

Of those three beautiful children, one child (my eldest child) has some pretty serious anger issues. I don’t even know if anger issues is the correct thing to call it. I’d say its more of a frustration issue that he deals with in insane anger.

He is an extremely clever and quick thinking little kid that loves to play and be a “real boy”. He is always on the go wanting to play ninjas,hammer things together, climb the tallest tree or build race cars with his Lego. He is also the most caring and loving boy I’ve ever met and is always wanting to make you proud of him.

In saying all that if for whatever reason he isn’t allowed to do something he wants to do or he can’t get something right the first or second time he becomes VERY frustrated. If the frustrated isn’t caught at the right time it can escalate into a full-blown rage of yelling, swearing, hitting and kicking furniture and just all round “I hate the world and everyone in it” sayings left right and centre.

This has become EXTREMELY stressful for me and my husband and we have had more than a couple argument’s about how to handle it which have at the moment resulted in the decision to let me handle it for the most part until a successful way to handle it has been found.

ANYWHO……

The reason I am writing this is because, I think it’s my fault.

I think / I know that I spend too much time not spending time with my kids. Yes, I’m with them constantly and yes, I love them and feed them and tend to their every need. But, I don’t spend enough time just being with them.

So. My plan is to stop cleaning/cooking/fluffing around and most of all being on my phone or laptop completely for half an hour-an hour twice a day and just be with the kids. Just doing something, anything with them where I’m not trying to clean or cook at the same time or listening to them while I scroll through emails or Facebook.

I’m excited about this and I honestly think all of my kids (and me) will benefit from it and hopefully my eldest son and I will be able to find some time to bond more and talk about things that might be bothering him which hopefully will result in him feeling more important and loved.

Is anyone else in the same boat with one of their kids? Let me know, I’d love to hear how you are dealing with it.

Loz

xx

Leave a comment